Kiwi Airgunners Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical > Pauly's Technical Area
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Register Register  Login Login

Case hardening

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pauly5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Case hardening
    Posted: 06 Oct 2020 at 5:57pm
Hello, calling all experienced ones,

I have been playing around with a CR600W CO2 rifle. One thing I am tempted to do is make a new hammer. I have no experience, but am I right in thinking it would need to be case hardened where it stirkes, and where the sear latch engages it?

Are there any home recipes/techniques I can try?

Or any tips on stopping hammer bounce? Have a lathe, can turn.
Stuart View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Stuart Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 2020 at 7:50pm
Or piece of tool steel and harden and temp, I have angle plates, parallels etc made from mild steel and case hardened then ground to size and still like new after 40 years of use. This is just a surface hardness ofthe steel

Tool steel heat to red heat quench in oil keeping the part moving to cool and that will be hard but you may need to temper part so not brittle by tempering, emery paper so you can see steel then heat to whatever hardness specification you need by the colour, light straw etc then quench again.    but the more you heat the less hardness you will have.
Best to find out what original part is made of first.
Pauly5 View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pauly5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 2020 at 8:47pm
Thanks for reply. These guns aren't super quality, mass produced, so to my untrained eye it feels and looks like a mild steel
nunga View Drop Down
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator